Students enrolled in the Associate Degree Nursing program on East Mississippi Community College’s Golden Triangle campus graduated in a Dec. 7 ceremony in the Lyceum Auditorium.

December 8, 2023

Forty-five graduates of East Mississippi Community College’s Associate Degree Nursing program participated in a pinning ceremony Thursday, Dec. 7, in the Lyceum Auditorium on the college’s Golden Triangle campus.

This is believed to be EMCC’s largest Associate Degree Nursing graduating class to date. The number of Associate Degree Nursing students doubled in March with the addition of a second cohort of students. In August, those students merged with the ADN cohort that began in January to form a single class.

“There is a shortage of nurses, and we are excited to be able to help address that problem locally by expanding our Associate Degree Nursing program,” EMCC Director of Nursing Programs/Associate Dean of Health Sciences Jamonicia Johnson said.

Associate Degree Nursing faculty presented several awards to students, with the highest honor going to Hartley Files who garnered the Florence Nightingale Award, which is presented to the student who most embodies the spirit of nursing.

Tyra Blevins was presented with a Scholastic Achievement Award and a Clinical Excellence Award. Other Clinical Excellence Award winners are o McKensie Ellis, Lexi Wittke, Chelsea Berry, McKinley Graham and Devean Turner.

The class of 2023 Association Degree Nursing graduates are:

Abigail Falkner Ables of West Point

Jameika K. Agnew of Holly Springs

Shaelie Mae Aumada of Eagle River, Alaska

Evelyn Monee’ Bell of West Point

Lauren Bell of Starkville

Andrea Bishop of Columbus

Tyra Blevins of Columbus

Chelsea Marie Caldwell of Grenada

MichaelAnn Chandler of Woodland

Katherine Bain Davis of Starkville

Mattie Chante’ Edwards of West Point

Morgan McKenzie Edwards of Ackerman

McKenzie Danyell Ellis of Columbus

Hartley Files of Mathiston

Marsha Friesen of Macon

Margaret Anne Gall of West Point

McKinley Graham of Madison

Kaitlyn Alise Gray of Columbus

Mya Suzanne Guyness of Columbus

Miller Hancock of Starkville

Nakiejah S Hickman of Yazoo City

Tia Arlesia Hunt

Tailer "Lindsey" Johnson of Steens

Anazjai Brykelle Jones of Gallman

Kia L. Jones of Columbus

Melanie Crystina Jones of Amory

Shelby Kugel of Columbus

Crimson Lea Lanthrip of Huntsville

Daria Anna Latham of Steens

Blair RaeAnn Lathem of Sebastopol

Latia Teiara Little of Scooba

Amanda Linn Mcknight of Ackerman

Diamond M. Mundy of Columbus

Dallas Niswonger of Caledonia

Rachel King Reese of Starkville

Angelia D. Rice of Columbus

MaKayla Robertson of Amory

Laura James Sanders of Caledonia

DuWanda Rene Singleton of Okolona

Amber Sha’tia Sisk of Oxford

Shavonne Townsend of Starkville

Devean Alexander Turner of Eupora

Heather Miller Usry of West Point

Trenton Wheeler of Vernon, Alabama

Alexis Sierra Wittke of Columbus