Outstanding students were honored during the April 27 Awards Day on EMCC’s Golden Triangle campus.

April 27, 2023

East Mississippi Community College instructors in academic, career-technical, Workforce and Community Services, and Nursing and Health Sciences programs of study on our Golden Triangle campus, The Communiversity and the Lion Hills Center recognized their outstanding students from the past year during the annual Awards Day program that took place April 27 in the Lyceum Auditorium on the Golden Triangle campus. Awards Day for students on the Scooba campus took place April 26.

EMCC President Dr. Scott Alsobrooks provided the welcome and closing remarks. Vice President of Operations Dr. Paul Miller gave the invocation.

Here is a list of those who received “Outstanding Student” awards and the areas for which they were recognized during the event at the Golden Triangle campus:

Christopher Alderson, Database Administration

Hailey Allen, Business Technology

Dillon Ballard, Computer Networking

Connor Baulch, Mechatronics

Emma Berry, Chemistry

Tyra Blevins, Associate Degree Nursing

Isaac Boden, Choir

Ella Bowen, Art - Syzygy – Drawing

Hallie Kate Brewer, Marketing Management Technology – Online

Courtney Paige Burton, Cosmetology

Gabriel Carpenter, Industrial Maintenance

Mallory Chunn, Statistics

Robert Coghlan, Drafting And Design

Sarah Cox, Music Appreciation

Jairon Cunningham, Electrical

Katherine Dunstan, Art - Syzygy – Design

Jackson Ellis, Network Security Technology

Macie Enas, Public Speaking I

Jacob Foley, Electrical

Faith Franklin, Western Civilization

Katylan Fulgham, Choir

Madelynne Goodson, General Psychology

Thomas Griffin, Machining

McKari Hall, Principles of Accounting II

Christy Harbour, Practical Nursing

Lucy Jennings, English Composition II

Nicole Johnson, English Composition 1

James Lagendijk, Welding

Matthew Mackey, College Algebra

Sarah MacKey, Art Appreciation

Stephanie L. Madison, Spanish II

Bradley Marler, Landscape Management Technology

Barry L. Milling, Systems Based Automation

Brezeona Mosley, Baking and Pastry

Jocie Loryn Nesom, Introduction to Sociology

Tranane S. Person, Barbering

Katelyn Pounders, American Literature / World Literature

Immanuel Powers, Principles of Accounting I

Matthew Richards, Calculus

Reggie Roberson, Automotive

Wesley Silver, Golf/Recreational Turf Management

Donte Smith, Automotive

Thomas Smith, Diesel

Lillian Steadman, Anatomy and Physiology / World Civilizations

Victoria Stewart, Marketing Management Technology - GT Campus

Tiffany Stoker, Surgical Technology

John Tompkins, Computer Programming Technology

Jordan Townsel, Culinary Arts

Carsen Trisler, Welding

Ryan Ward, Marriage & Family

Jada Tanneil Williams, Cosmetology

John Wolf, Syzygy -- Creative Nonfiction Award

AJ Woodard, Systems Based Automation

Brody Wright, American History

Lindsey Younger, General Microbiology                 


Student ambassadors: Landon Bock, Kaitlyn Bock, Hannah Carper, Tyson Coleman, Kiersen Easley, Kaitlyn Freeman, Anna Heflin, Trace Helms, Kaylie Hickman, Reese Jackson, Tucker Loper, Madison McCarter, McKenzie Middleton, Makayla Nichols, Lauren Pannell, Fallon Parker, Carley Peterson, Sydney Pierce, Aliyah Pittman, Madilynne Goodson, Abigail Staten, Parker Thomas

Phi Theta Kappa: PTK vice president Seth Givens received a pin for a speech he gave during the Mississippi/Louisiana Regional Awards Gala 2023 that helped secure the designation of PTK Vice President of the Mississippi/Louisiana region for the Golden Triangle campus chapter of PTK, Beta Iota Zeta. New spring 2023 PTK members to date were also recognized. They are: Gracie Anderson, Patrick Artigues, Gabriel Atchley, Mason Atkinson, Madison Barlow, Kayla Bell, Gabrielle Benson, Jordan Brady, Mylasha Brown, Hannah Burkis, Maggie Burnett, Hannah Carper, Tyson Coleman, Isaac Collins, Kiana Cooperwood, Dawson Cox, David Crawley, Anh Dao, Kiersen Easley, Carson Elliott, Katelyn Fore, Jonathan Forrester, Mary Gant, Terriyah Gardner, Bert Gerhart, Madelynne Goodson, Zephaniah Gore, Andrea Goss, Lauren Graham, Landon Haas, Lakenzia Ham, Cayden Harding, Lavarius Harris, William Havens, Anna Heflin, Morgan Hilfiker, Charles Jackson, Reese Jackson, Nicole Johnson, Aniyah Jordan, Jayden Latham, Matthew Mackey, Calvin Malone, Justin Mast, Elizabythe McBeth, Mallory McCrory, Gracie McDill, Libby McMurphey, Audrey McReynolds, Kelby Miller, Deisy Moreno, Akalaka Okeke, Ja’Khelveyona Oliver, Fallon Parker, Bryce Pate, Shruti Patel, Keylan Payne, Mattie Peeples, Abigale Robertson, Addison Robertson, Samantha Rude Strange, Haidi Salihaj, Joseph Shane, Matthew Short, Charles Shurlds, Anna Sibley, Lauren Sowell, Lillian Steadman, Victoria Stewart, Ella Sylvest, Gabriel Talley, Serenity Taylor, Jordan Townsel, Myah Varner, Addison Vickers, Cayce Walker, Sutton Walters, Ryan Ward, Nathan Watkins, Allee Weathers, Lucy West, Holly Whitfield, Brianna Wilkerson, Ella Windle, Matthew Yearby

Student Government Association 2023 officers: Yataevia Gillespie, president; Sydney Pierce, vice president; Kaitlyn Bock, treasurer; McKenzie Middleton, secretary; Tucker Loper, reporter

NOTE: Not all those students recognized were able to attend the Awards Day ceremony.