East Mississippi Community College President Dr. Scott Alsobrooks addresses faculty and staff during the college’s annual Convocation that took place on the Scooba campus.

August 8, 2023

East Mississippi Community College’s 2023 Convocation took place Aug. 8 in Stennis Auditorium on the college’s Scooba campus.

The annual event, a professional development and fellowship opportunity for faculty and staff at the school, takes place each fall prior to the start of classes. EMCC President Dr. Scott Alsobrooks presented the charge to the college, which was followed by recognition of employees for years of service.

Mississippi Community College Board Assistant Director for Research and Effectiveness Dr. Angela Payne was the keynote speaker. Convocation attendees also participated in breakout sessions on various topics.

The following EMCC employees were presented with service awards. Here is a list of the service award recipients broken down by the number of years they have worked at EMCC:

45 YEARS: Timmy Billups

30 YEARS: Dudley Shurlds

20 YEARS: Holly Beneke, Gary Campbell, Theresa Harpole, Jeff Harrell, Tara Hurt, Jill McTaggart, Atlas Mumphard, Sharon Thompson, Rodney Woodards

15 YEARS: Gina Cotton, Laura Guthrie, Shelley Hebert, Lilia Kelly, Mary Ann Latham, David Rosinski, Buddy Stephens, George Taylor

10 YEARS: Steven Bontrager, Tshurah Dismuke, Mike Duke, Ben Harris, Johnny Latham, Christine Montgomery, Janet Mullen, Lillie Thornton, Kyle Younger

5 YEARS: Paul Bolton, Cathy Castleberry, Khristina Edmonds, Charline Grace, Jamonicia Johnson, Horacio Leal, David Lewis, Arianna Love, Howard Manley, Stanley Nowell, Shane Richards, Ashley Richardson, Renea Rogers, Christy Steadman, Darby Unruh, Christina Vernon, Lane Yarbrough

EMCC employees hired during the last 12 months were also recognized during the event. Here is the list of new employees, with their titles, broken down by campus.


Brandi Atkinson, Accounts Payable/Purchasing Clerk 

Janet Boyd, Admin Assistant to the Dean of Instruction

Princess Dawkins, LPN Instructor

Raphael Leonard, Assistant Football Coach

Armani Linton, Assistant Football Coach

Eli McCarty, Skilled Maintenance

Carla McDade, Student Success Math Tutor

Brenda McGaha, ABE Instructor

Patricia Patterson, Student Accounts Receivable Clerk

Quynndarious Pettus, CDL Instructor

Terrance Pope, Assistant Football Coach

Markeia Porter, Asst. Women’s Basketball Coach

Christopher Rash, Head Soccer Coach

Antranika Ruffin, Library Assistant

Eric Sinclair, Grounds Maintenance

Julia Thornton, Librarian

Christina Vernon, Executive Administrative Assistant to the President


LeAnn Alexander, Dean of Students

Jameica Arnold, LPN Instructor

Bill Buckner, Lineman Instructor

Lloyd Dixon, Director of Financial Aid

Kim Dooley, Enrollment Management Generalist

Wesley Frost, Director of Surgical Technology

Natasha Hill, Health Sciences Office Manager

Tia Johnson, Associate Degree Nursing Instructor

Jennifer McCullough, Associate Degree Nursing Instructor

Pete Peterson, Skilled Maintenance/AC

Leigh Rice - Enrollment Management Generalist

Tiwana Robinson, GTECHS Counselor

Justin Smith, Automotive Technology Lab Assistant

Kayla Stevenson, Associate Degree Nursing Instructor

Brian Tesch, Sociology Instructor

Latrice Triplett, Career STEP Navigator

Paige Upchurch, GED Chief Examiner/Drop-out Recovery

Eljenette West, Associate Degree Nursing Instructor


Colin Draving, Assistant Golf Pro


Kendle McKinstry, Night Clerical Support/Receptionist

Sarah Oswalt, FlexFactor Project Manager

Anna Thompson, Communiversity Engagement and Communication