Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Academic Divisions


Academic Divisions

Help (new window)

Academic Divisions​

East Mississippi Community College has three academic divisions offering a comprehensive variety of classes. At EMCC, students can get what they need to prepare for transfer to a four-year college or university, satisfy academic requirements of the college’s career-technical programs or take individual classes in areas of interest.​
Vice President for Instruction
Dr. Thomas Ware
(662) 476-5087
Assistant Dean, Scooba campus
(662) 476-5048​

Associate deans:


Napoleon Jones
(662) 243-7474


Melanie Sanders
(662) 243-1904


Chris Square

(662) 476-5347


Gina Thompson
(662) 243-2623


Dr. Virginia Young
(662) 243-2624​

Humanities & Fine Arts

The Humanities and Fine Arts Division encompasses a number of subject areas: foreign language, English composition and literature, philosophy, speech and fine arts – art, music and theatre. Developmental classes are also available to help students prepare for English composition coursework. Humanities and Fine Arts classes explore the nature of man, including our interpretation of beauty and truth, and how we communicate those ideas to others, both orally and visually.​​

Division chairs:


Golden Triangle

Marilyn Ford

(662) 243-2634



Janet Briggs

(662) 476-5034​


Mathematics & Science
The Mathematics and Science Division
includes mathematics, natural sciences, computer science, nutrition, biology, chemistry and physics. Developmental classes are also available to help students prepare for math coursework.​

Division chairs:


Golden Triangle

Annalisa Ebanks

(662) 243-2635



Jairus Johnson

(662) 476-5300


Social Science & Business

The Social Science and Business Division offers courses in accounting, business administration, criminal justice, economics, education, educational psychology, geography, health/physical education, history, leadership, political science, psychology and sociology.​​

Division chairs:


Golden Triangle

Jill McTaggart

(662) 243-2661



Marianne Stuart

(662) 476-5031​


East Mississippi Community College
MCCB/CJC Transparency | Policies & Notifications | Non-Discrimination Policy | Campus Emergency Action Plan

Main Campus
1512 Kemper Street
PO Box 158
Scooba, MS 39358
(662) 476-8442
Golden Triangle
8731 South Frontage Road
PO Box 100
Mayhew, MS 39753
(662) 243-1900
CAFB Extension Center
81 Fifth Street, Room A
CAFB, MS 39710
(662) 434-2660
NAS Meridian Extension
255 Rosenbaum Ave.
Meridian, MS 39309
(601) 679-3570