Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Organizations

:

Home

Help (new window)
​Phi Theta Kappa All-Academic Team
​Amateur Radio Club
​Reflection Singers


Organizations & Clubs

Students at East Mississippi Community College can get involved in campus life through a wide range of clubs, from purely social groups, to academic and professional memberships, to activity-driven organizations. Some are competitive and offer scholarships to their members.

Consult this list for more information. For general questions, contact Event & Student Activities Coordinator Kate Neely McCarty, (662) 476-5035 or kneely@eastms.edu.

Amateur Radio Club
Sponsor: Bob Lovelace
(662) 243-1913
blovelace@eastms.edu

The Amateur Radio Club, KE5HJS, operates from the Golden Triangle campus. This ham radio club was established to help students in their study of electronics and world geography. Members communicate with other operators from all over the United States. A working knowledge of how to operate ham radio equipment is valuable for casual conversations as well as communication in times of emergency.​

Art Club

Scooba sponsors: 
Terry Cherry, Lisa Spinks
(662) 476-5133
tcherry@eastms.edu

Golden Triangle sponsor:
Alex Scott Baine
(662) 243-2662
abaine@eastms.edu

The Art Clubs, on EMCC’s Scooba and Golden Triangle campuses, promote creativity and artistic expression among their members. Meetings are open to all students, faculty and staff.​

Association of Information
Technology Professionals
Sponsor: Sandra Coleman
(662) 243-1958
scoleman@eastms.edu

AITP at EMCC’s Golden Triangle campus is the community of IT knowledge focused on empowering the IT profession by evolving its members to their full potential. Its goal is to provide a community network for the members to reach their true potential by providing education programs for advancing technology and business skills, leadership development opportunities, networking, peer mentoring, knowledge sharing, and online resources.​

Band
Sponsor: Stephen Stringer
(662) 476-5005
sstringer@eastms.edu

More info:
Mighty Lion Band page
Mighty Lion Band website

The Mighty Lion Band performs concerts and halftime shows at football games and participates in many community parades, activities and competitions. The band includes musicians, a Color Guard and the Eastern Belles dance squad.​

Cheerleading Squad
Sponsor: Amy Thomas
(251) 463-1209
athomas@eastms.edu

The Cheerleader Squad instills pride and commitment to excellence at the college and in the community. Auditions for the squad are held during the spring semester of each year.​

College Publications
Sponsor: Jason Browne
(662) 476-8417
jbrowne@eastms.edu

College Publications members are students from the Scooba and Golden Triangle campuses who work to create EMCC’s yearbook, The Lion. ​

Concert Choir and Reflection Singers
Sponsor: Wendy Smith
(662) 476-5004
wsmith@eastms.edu

The EMCC choirs is located on the Scooba campus, but performs at college and campus events through EMCC’s six-county district, as well as state and regional competitions. The Concert Choir is a large performing ensemble. Reflection Singers is a smaller, more select, group.​

Delta Epsilon Chi
Sponsors: 
Lori Smith, Janet Gullett, Linda Farrar
(662) 243-1943
lsmith@eastms.edu

The mission of Delta Epsilon Chi is to serve its diverse international membership as a professional organization, providing leadership and career opportunities to tomorrow’s leaders.  Members of the Golden Triangle’s three chapters must maintain a strong focus in business-related areas such as marketing, management and entrepreneurship.​

Fellowship of Christian Athletes
Sponsor: Kate Neely McCarty
(662) 476-5131
kneely@eastms.edu  

Located on EMCC’s Scooba campus, the Fellowship of Christian Athletes invites faculty, staff, and all students to its weekly fellowship time where members pray, worship, and study discipleship.​

Forestry Club
Sponsor: Bob Walker
(662) 476-5098
bwalker@eastms.edu

The Forestry Club at EMCC’s Scooba campus is made up of students in the Forestry Technology Program. Its purpose is to promote forestry and related industries.​

Health Occupation Students of America
Sponsor: Jennifer Jackson
(662) 476-5103
jjackson@eastms.edu

Health Occupation Students of America (HOSA)  is a national organization which sponsors competitions at the state and national levels in health related areas. 

Mississippi Organization for Associate Degree Nursing Student Association
Sponsor: Tonsha Emerson
(662) 243-2664
temerson@eastms.edu

The Mississippi Organization for Associate Degree Nursing Student Association (MOSA), on EMCC’s Golden Triangle campus, strives to promote nursing at the local, state and national levels; to promote & maintain Associate Degree Nursing as the entry level into nursing practice; and to maintain both the Registered Nurse title and the current scope of practice.​

National Technical Honor Society
Sponsor: Debi Valentine
(662) 243-1925
dvalentine@eastms.edu

The National Technical Honor Society at EMCC’s Golden Triangle campus is an internationally recognized program. Members must be enrolled full-time in a career or technical program, earn a 3.25 grade point average in their program coursework, and a 3.0 grade point average for their overall coursework.​

Optical Technology Club
Sponsor: Eddie Sciple
(662) 476-5094
esciple@eastms.edu

The Optical Technology Club is made up of students in the Ophthalmic Technology Program on the Scooba campus.​

Phi Beta Lambda
Sponsors:
Jodi Pierce, Zelma Fulgham, Trina Dendy
(662) 243-1960
jpierce@eastms.edu

Phi Beta Lambda is a national college organization of students enrolled in business subjects.  It seeks to develop competent, aggressive, business leadership, to increase interest and understanding in the intelligent choice of business occupations and to encourage improvement in scholarship.

Phi Theta Kappa

Scooba sponsor: Janet Briggs
(662) 476-5034
jbriggs@eastms.edu

Golden Triangle sponsor: Kelly Cantrell
(662) 243-2651
kcantrell@eastms.edu  ​

Phi Theta Kappa is the official honor society for two-year colleges. It promotes scholarship, develops character, and provides opportunity for the developments of leadership and service skills.

Sigma Phi Sigma
Sponsor: Don Webb
(662) 476-5100
dwebb@eastms.edu

A national fraternity, the Mu Chapter of Sigma Phi Sigma is open to Funeral Service Technology students at EMCC’s Scooba campus.  Its goals are to promote knowledge, professionalism, and fellowship among service majors.​

SkillsUSA
Sponsor: Dale Henry
(662) 243-1983
dhenry@eastms.edu

SkillsUSA is a national organization made up of high school students, college students, and professional members enrolled in training programs in technical, skilled, and service occupations.​

Student Ambassadors

Golden Triangle sponsor: Michael Black
(662) 243-1974
mblack@eastms.edu

Scooba sponsor: Jessica Bentley
(662) 476-5346
jcollins2@eastms.edu

Student Ambassadors visit high schools and attend college events to encourage potential students to become EMCC Lions. They also represent EMCC at various community functions in the college's six-county district.​

Student Christian Fellowship
Sponsor: Mary Smith
(662) 476-8617
msmith@eastms.edu

The Student Christian Fellowship on the campus of East Mississippi Community College is comprised of two groups of students, the Baptist Student Union and Wesley Foundation. The BSU (Baptist Student Union) is sponsored by the Mississippi Baptist Convention. The Wesley Foundations is sponsored by the Methodist church. Students also participate in the Fellowship of Christian Athletes.

Student Government Association

Scooba sponsor: Brooke Bentley
(662) 476-5346
jcollins2@eastms.edu  

Golden Triangle sponsor: Cathy Kemp
(662) 243-1979
ckemp@eastms.edu

The Student Government Association enables students to be involved in making decisions that affect campus life.  The SGA takes suggestions from students and interacts with the school administration to help implement new policies.  In addition, they often assist EMCC with special events such as the Reality Fair.​

Student Practical Nursing Association
Sponsor: Karen Taylor
(662) 243-1989
ktaylor@eastms.edu

The Student Practical Nursing Association, on the Golden Triangle campus, is a student chapter of the National Federation of Licensed Practice Nurses.  Its purpose is to increase awareness of nursing roles, nursing issues and medical technology through hands-on experiences, educational conferences, guest speakers, and community services.​

Voices of Victory
Sponsor: Dana Rose
(662) 476-5085
drose@eastms.edu

Voices of Victory is a student-led gospel choir which promotes Christian ideals through singing heartfelt, interactive praise and worship songs.​

  

 




 

​​​​

East Mississippi Community College
MCCB/CJC Transparency | Policies & Notifications | Campus Contact Directory | Non-Discrimination Policy | Campus Emergency Action Plan


Main Campus
1512 Kemper Street
PO Box 158
Scooba, MS 39358
(662) 476-8442
Golden Triangle
8731 South Frontage Road
PO Box 100
Mayhew, MS 39753
(662) 243-1900
CAFB Extension Center
81 Fifth Street, Room A
CAFB, MS 39710
(662) 434-2660
NAS Meridian Extension
255 Rosenbaum Ave.
Meridian, MS 39309
(601) 679-3570