Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

News Center


Golden Triangle students receive honors at Awards Day

Help (new window)
You are here: Home > News Center

Golden Triangle students receive honors at Awards Day

Release date: April 11, 2014

MAYHEW – Hope was alive and well Thursday as East Mississippi Community College held its annual Awards Day at the Golden Triangle campus.
Speaking to the assembled student award recipients, family members and EMCC faculty, EMCC Vice President for Instruction Dr. Thomas Ware expressed his confidence in the leaders of tomorrow.
“In this age of tweets and texts and the 24-hour news cycle, the world can seem like a pretty dismal place. But knowing how hard you’ve all worked to accomplish your goals to this point, I feel like the world is in capable hands,” he said.
Both academic and career-technical programs recognized outstanding students. Here’s a look at the award recipients, their home towns and the areas for which they were recognized:
  • Austin Andrews (Columbus) – Statistics
  • Ali Browne (Starkville) – Culinary
  • Katharine Crandall (Aberdeen) – Syzygy Ceramics
  • Mandy Davis (Houston) – Healthcare Data Technology
  • Meagan Dobbs(Birmingham, Ala.) – Creative Writing II, Non-Calculus
  • Lemuel Dunn (Mathiston) – Calculus
  • Adam Eubanks (Louisville) – Welding Technology
  • Taylor Fleming (Starkville) – Computer Networking Technology
  • Abigail Gillispie (Starkville) – English Comp I
  • Evan Gregory (Sturgis) – Economics
  • Canaan Griffin (Starkville) – Syzygy Drawing
  • Tom Hansen (Columbus) – Outstanding Art Student
  • Jillian Hatcher (Columbus) – World Civilizations
  • Alfred Hill (Columbus) – Automotive Technology (1st Year)
  • Kendrick Hill (Columbus) – Electrical Technology
  • Kristen Hitt (Starkville) – Microbiology
  • Laura Hudgins (Caledonia) – Practical Nursing
  • Emily Hughes (Starkville) – Public Speaking
  • Kenneth Hulsey (Mathiston) – Honors Composition
  • Adam Jayroe (Canton) – Psychology
  • Ellen Joiner (Louisville) – Theatre
  • Leilani Leipold (Columbus) – Western Civilization (CAFB)
  • Kaitlyn Lomen (Starkville) – Syzygy Design
  • Rebecca Lott (Madison) – Business and Marketing Management
  • Jasmine Mangual (Starkville) – Syzygy Overall Art, Syzygy Painting
  • Lindsey McNair (Brandon) – Drawing
  • Jon Miller (Starkville) – Syzygy Overall Literary
  • Patrick Mobley (Starkville) – Automotive Technology (2nd Year)
  • Robert Mullins (West Point) – Computer Science
  • J.R. Mullis (Columbus) – Electronic Engineering Technology
  • Alex Nettles (Columbus) – Outstanding Honors Student
  • Kendall Odom (Ackerman) – English Comp II, Overall History
  • Thomas Quinn (Columbus) – Professional Writing, Syzygy Poetry, Syzygy Short Story
  • Christina Randle (Collierville, Tenn.) – Biology
  • Lina Rios (Starkville) – Hotel and Restaurant Management
  • Ann Sanders (Starkville) – Spanish II
  • Abigail Schimmel (Starkville) – Anatomy and Physiology
  • Joseph Schrock(Aberdeen)  – Welding and Fabrication
  • Rebecca Sepaugh (Mathiston) – Art Appreciation, Sociology
  • Dana Smith (Prairie) – Office Systems Technology
  • Michelle Smith (Crawford) – British Literature, Italian
  • Morgan Spivey (Maben) – American History
  • Arl Taylor (Caledonia) – Recreational Turf Management
  • Ben Taylor (Columbus) – Electronics
  • Adam Varsel (Kosciusko) – Automation and Control Technology
  • Kristen Walker (Macon) – American Literature
  • Jackson Ward (French Camp) – Creative Writing I
  • Melissa Worrells (Mathiston) – Banking and Finance Technology
  • James Zila (Starkville) – Human Growth and Development

In the photo above: Alex Nettles of Columbus accepts the Outstanding Honors Student Award from history instructor Kelly Cantrell, English instructor Laura Vernon and art instructor Scott Baine Thursday at East Mississippi Community College’s Golden Triangle campus Awards Day ceremony.


Lina Rios of Starkville accepts the Hotel and Restaurant Management Award from instructor
Dr. Linda Farrar during Awards Day.



More photos on Facebook:

Golden Triangle
Awards Day, 4-11-14



Coming up:

Awards Day at the Scooba campus

will be Thursday, April 24

East Mississippi Community College
MCCB/CJC Transparency | Policies & Notifications | Non-Discrimination Policy | Campus Emergency Action Plan

Main Campus
1512 Kemper Street
PO Box 158
Scooba, MS 39358
(662) 476-8442
Golden Triangle
8731 South Frontage Road
PO Box 100
Mayhew, MS 39753
(662) 243-1900
CAFB Extension Center
81 Fifth Street, Room A
CAFB, MS 39710
(662) 434-2660
NAS Meridian Extension
255 Rosenbaum Ave.
Meridian, MS 39309
(601) 679-3570