Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

News Center


Phi Theta Kappa students named to All-Academic Team

Help (new window)
You are here: Home > News Center

Phi Theta Kappa students named to All-Academic Team

 EMCC Mississippi All-Academic honorees are, first row from left, Rachel Clay of DeKalb, Laura Beth Hull of DeKalb and Rebecca

 Sepaugh of Mathiston. In the second row are EMCC staff member Lauren Clay, and Phi Theta Kappa faculty sponsors Janet Briggs,

 Derrick Conner and Kelly Cantrell.


Release date: March 7, 2014

Three students from East Mississippi Community College were named to the Mississippi All-Academic Team during a ceremony March 5 in Jackson: Rebecca Sepaugh of Mathiston, Laura Beth Hull of DeKalb and Rachel Clay of DeKalb.
The All-Mississippi Academic Team recognition program applauds the scholarly achievements and leadership accomplishments of community and junior college students across the state of Mississippi. Honorees were recognized at the State Capitol by the Mississippi Legislature and were the guests of honor at an awards luncheon.
Rebecca Sepaugh, who attends EMCC’s Golden Triangle campus, was named First Team All-Academic and was one of 50 All-Academic students nationwide to receive a $1,500 Coca-Cola Gold Scholarship for demonstrating “academic excellence and intellectual rigor combined with leadership and service that extends their education beyond the classroom to benefit society.” She serves as vice president of the Phi Theta Kappa honor society at the Golden Triangle campus, is a 2014 William Winter Student Scholar, was named EMCC’s Golden Triangle 2013 Honors Student of the Year and was named to the 2014 list of Who’s Who Among American Community College Students.
Laura Beth Hull is head of public relations for Phi Theta Kappa at EMCC’s Scooba campus, serves as a Student Ambassador, serves on the Scooba Student Government Association and is a member of the Lady Lions softball team.
Rachel Clay is a member of Phi Theta Kappa at the Scooba campus, serves as a Student Ambassador, serves on the Student Government Association, is a member of the Cheer team and was named EMCC’s 2014 Homecoming Queen.

Mississippi All-Academic Team honorees, pictured with EMCC President Dr. Rick Young are, from left, Laura Beth Hull of DeKalb, Rachel Clay of DeKalb

and Rebecca Sepaugh of Mathiston.

East Mississippi Community College
MCCB/CJC Transparency | Policies & Notifications | Non-Discrimination Policy | Campus Emergency Action Plan

Main Campus
1512 Kemper Street
PO Box 158
Scooba, MS 39358
(662) 476-8442
Golden Triangle
8731 South Frontage Road
PO Box 100
Mayhew, MS 39753
(662) 243-1900
CAFB Extension Center
81 Fifth Street, Room A
CAFB, MS 39710
(662) 434-2660
NAS Meridian Extension
255 Rosenbaum Ave.
Meridian, MS 39309
(601) 679-3570