Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

News Center


New Hope claims top spot in Scholars' Olympiad

Help (new window)
You are here: Home > News Center

New Hope claims top spot in Scholars' Olympiad

Students from New Hope High School took home a first place finish at the Scholars’ Olympiad.

Release date: Feb. 7, 2014

MAYHEW – New Hope High School outperformed six other area high schools to claim first place overall at East Mississippi Community College’s annual Scholars’ Olympiad.
The academic and career-technical testing competition was held Feb. 7 at EMCC’s Golden Triangle campus. More than 100 local students took part. Participating schools included Caledonia High School, Columbus High School, New Hope High School, Oak Hill Academy, Starkville Academy, Starkville Christian School and West Point High School.
Michael Black, head recruiter for EMCC’s Golden Triangle campus in Mayhew, said the Scholars’ Olympiad is an ideal way for EMCC to introduce itself to future college students and vice versa.
“It’s exciting for the students because they get out of regular class for the day, but for an academic competition where they can earn money for college. And it’s exciting for us because we get to bring the brightest students in the area to our campus, show them what we have to offer and make a good impression with the hope that they’ll choose to begin their college careers at EMCC,” he said.
First place finishers received $2,000 scholarships to be distributed over four semesters at EMCC. Second place earned $1,000 over four semesters. And third place earned $400 over four semesters.
Here's a look at the winners and their high schools:
1st New Hope High School
2nd Caledonia High School
3rd Columbus High School
1st Rachel Bond – Caledonia
2nd Brett Richardson – New Hope
3rd Steve Dragoo – Oak Hill
1st Rodreekas Hogan – Columbus
2nd Timothy Nickoles – New Hope
3rd Connor Maynard – Starkville Academy
Banking, Hotel-Restaurant, Marketing
1st Jennifer Dulaney – New Hope
Biological Science
1st Yousef Hreish – New Hope
2nd Malik Seals – Columbus
3rd Jalen Parker – Columbus
1st Stephen Ross – Oak Hill
2nd Beka Bisson – Starkville Christian
3rd Chellea Hatch – Caledonia
Government & History
1st Lowell Barton – Oak Hill
2nd Carter Pennington – Caledonia
3rd Caitlyn Croft – Caledonia
1st Bradley Allen – Oak Hill
2nd Tyler Etheridge – Caledonia
3rd Preston Hall – Oak Hill
1st Madline Hamer – New Hope
2nd Trevor Gibson – New Hope
3rd Malik Richardson – Caledonia
1st Alexandra Lee – Caledonia
2nd David Clevas – Starkville Academy
3rd Latasha Latham – Caledonia
1st Andrea Lacy – Columbus
Physical Science
1st David Lewis – New Hope
2nd Robert Reed – New Hope
3rd Avery Smith – Caledonia


More photos on Facebook:

Scholars' Olympiad 2014

East Mississippi Community College
MCCB/CJC Transparency | Policies & Notifications | Non-Discrimination Policy | Campus Emergency Action Plan

Main Campus
1512 Kemper Street
PO Box 158
Scooba, MS 39358
(662) 476-8442
Golden Triangle
8731 South Frontage Road
PO Box 100
Mayhew, MS 39753
(662) 243-1900
CAFB Extension Center
81 Fifth Street, Room A
CAFB, MS 39710
(662) 434-2660
NAS Meridian Extension
255 Rosenbaum Ave.
Meridian, MS 39309
(601) 679-3570